You are here:: About the TSO Board of Trustees

Board of Trustees

Over the years community leaders have stepped up to provide guidance to the Tucson Symphony. We are extremely grateful to our Trustees for their leadership.


The vision of the Tucson Symphony Orchestra is a community where music is the catalyst that brings people together across all boundaries for inspired living.

The mission of the Tucson Symphony Orchestra is to engage, educate and transform our community through live musical experiences of the highest quality.

The four pillars of this mission are: 

  1. Programming: Offer diverse, exceptional and innovative programming.
  2. Engagement:  Bring music to the community and the community to music.
  3. Partnership: Collaborate with others to leverage resources, build bridges and enhance programs.
  4. Learning: Develop life-skills, critical thinking and self-awareness through music.


José Luis Gomez, Music Director
Tom McKinney, President & CEO

Cecile Follansbee, Chair
Bonnie Kampa, Past Chair, Chair of Development Committee
Jen Harris – Co Chair of Development Committee
Jen Prescott, Chair of Human Resources Committee 
Steve Cooke - Chair of Committee on Trusteeship
Carl Bowser, Secretary 
David C. Carney, Treasurer 

Karen Bahnick
Michael S. Bylsma
Leah Geistfeld
James Glasser
Ian Jones* (TSOMO)
Johanna Lundy* (TSOMO)
Beverly Machulies* (TSOL)
Nancy J. March

Tom McKinney*
Tanya Miller
Matt Milner
John J. Palmer
Carlie Rigg* (TSOMO)
Coppélia L. Samaha
Col. Rodger Schuld
Patricia Schwabe
Peter Smith
George Steele 
Rebecca Sundt*(TSCBAC)
Autumn van den Berg 
John E. Wahl

*ex officio

Conflict of Interest Policy (PDF)


Larry Adamson
Pat Bjorhovde
Shirley Chann
Jocelyn K. Clark
Barbara and Edward Farmilant
Gary L. Gethmann

Sandy Goodsite 
Jory Hancock
John F. Kofron 
Erwin D. Kratz  
Barbara Levy
George Miraben 

Fran S. Richardson
Helen S. Schaefer 
Howard Steele
Marilyn Steele
Dorothy Vanek 

The TSO's Board of Trustees has been led by the following people:

1939-1940 Mrs. E. W. Flaccus
1943-1944 Otho Books
1944-1950 Grant Howard
1950-1951 Alfred Atkinson
1952-1953 Cornelia DuBois
1953-1955 Holden W. Olsen
1955-1957 Hy Copins
1957-1959 Fred Armstrong
1959-1961 Albert Goorwitch
1961-1963 Mr. C. M. Wright
1963-1965 Eugene Steinheimer
1965-1967 Mr. C. Van Haaften
1967-1968 William H. Smith
1968-1969 Jean Goorwitch
1969-1970 Richard P. Knight
1970-1973 Norman W. Salmon
1973-1975 Jerome S. Shull
1975-1977 Paul H. Skinner
1977-1979 Earl Kai Chann
1979-1980 Jerome Shull
1980-1981 Barbara von Teuber
1981-1983 Thomas L. Roof Jr.
1983-1984 Shirley Chann
1984-1985 Helen S. Schaefer
1985-1986 John F. Kofron
1986-1988 George Miraben
1988-1990 Sally Drachman
1990-1991 Solomon Pan
1991-1994 John McLaughlin
1994-1996 George Steele
1996-1998 Sandy Goodsite
1998-1999 H. Eugene Jones
1999-2001 Nina C.Masek
2001-2003 Jocelyn K. Clark
2003-2005 Gary L. Gethmann
2005-2007 Patricia Bjorhovde
2007-2009 Nancy J. March
2009-2011 Erwin Kratz
2011-2014 Barbara R. Levy
2014-2016 Bonnie Kampa
2016-present Cecile Follansbee